NYE

The last day before 2012 has brought me to reflect on the past year, just like everyone else. This has been a crazy, life-changing, eye-opening year for me. Right now I am sitting in my hostel in Prague, the calm before the storm.

My 2011 resolution was to do something I had never done before every single month. Let’s reflect:

Jan: Vegetarian for a week

Feb: No caffeine

March: Daily meditations

April: Save $1K in 1 month

May: Got my motorcycles license

June: Started my blog

July: Daily meditations take II (this is hard!)

Aug:  Move abroad (to Italy)

Sep:  The REAL Oktoberfest

Oct: Gave up chapstick! Oh, and I drove on the “wrong side” in Ireland. Oh and ruptured my ear drum (this one wasn’t on the to-do list).

Nov: Stayed in a hostel

Dec: International travel (In the past 4 months I have been to Italy, London, Ireland, Spain, France, Germany, Switzerland, Austria, Hungary and the Czech Republic)

– – – –

That’s a lot of new things.

I have fallen in love with traveling, new cultures, new people, new foods. I have fallen in love with the idea of love. I have discovered new things about myself. This has led me to determine what my 2012 New Year’s Resolutions will be and they will be s.m.a.r.t. (specific, measurable, attainable, realistic, timely)…

*drum roll please*

1. Become financially stable and independent

I have dug myself a bit of a financial grave after traveling for four months. So my plan is to re-do Dave Ramsey’s Financial Peace University.

2. Run a ½ Marathon 

European vacation= European pounds. I’ve been putting off the half marathon for a couple of years now. It’s time to check this off my list on April 29th when I run the La Jolla Half.

3.  Get involved in my church

I have been calling Flood my home church for 2 years. It’s time to invest more into a place that invests so much into me by joining an Impact Team.

4. Get published!

I know I can. I will start by sending a travel article to City Beat and the Reader. Time to play the numbers game.

5. Travel. Preferably solo.

I heard it’s an entirely different and rewarding experience. I am hoping to add Australia or South America to the list.

– – – –

Five more days until I am back in the U.S.


 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

